top of page

3-D Printer: Whistle

When deciding what to print I wanted something that is functional and simple for my first time 3-D printing. Initially, I wanted to print measuring spoons I could use when I am baking; however, it would take more than 3 hours. I revised my plan and decided upon a whistle. When I was teaching Physical Education during my practicum I quickly realised I needed a whistle to call attention to my students. And so, my 3-D printing journey began.

Printing in progress

I used the MakerBot program to export the file I found from thingiverse. I scaled my object to 85% so to save time. It was fascinating to see the machine in progress. Layer by layer my whistle finally took shape.

Teaching Implications

In the classroom a 3-D printer can be used as part of the visual arts curriculum, students using software to create object and then using the printer to see it come to life. It can also be used in science, for example, in grade 4 pulleys and gears, students can build intricate gear systems using the Tinkercad website.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page