top of page

Mark my words

The big idea that I am passionate about is that dance has the opportunity to free ourselves and express how we feel. Dance does not have to be restrive and with specific choreography, but rather an experience that is personal and flexible. Especially in the elementary grades, dance needs to be embraced and experienced by all. “Creative movement offers opportunity for individual expression as opposed to technical training that emphasises a ‘right’ way to move” (Petersen and Kaufmann 2002 as referenced in Zitomer, 2017, p. 437). When dance is open and about individual expression, then all students will feel safe and excited to move in the classroom and beyond.

I begin with this quote because dance should not be done without feeling. During dance class you can impose steps for students to do, but it will not be meaningful to students if their personal emotions and/or experiences are not honoured. Dance should be approached with the idea that it is another way to communicate ideas, thought, feelings, and imagination (Hartle, Pinciotti, & Gorton, 2015). Moreover, “the arts afford opportunities to experience the universality of human emotions and human endeavors” (Hartle, et al., 2015, p. 291). Whether the emotion is complete jubilation, misery, or somewhere in-between, dance can be the outlet needed to express When the hearts of the students are honoured greater sharing and growth is possible.

This quote speaks to me because sometimes it is important to get out of your head and just let the music and your feelings move you. It doesn’t matter if you are “technically correct” as long as you are committed to the moment. When you move there should be no fear of how you move. It is important that within the classroom I establish a safe and welcoming learning environment.

I have chosen this quote because it demonstrates the enjoyment that dancing can offer. Dance allows us to be in the moment and just enjoy the people and feelings of the now. Moreover, I appreciate how it acknowledges the multi-modal semiosis experience of dance with music (Deans, 2016). In my experience when I am stressed out and want a moment to myself playing a certain song can lift up my mood and and can get me moving. I want my students to know that dance isn’t always for preformative reason, but a way for yourself to practice mindfulness. Overall, this quote is about having fun and just being in the moment.

My personal commitment is to embrace the creative process within dance. Despite my anxiety with dance, I want my students to develop as capable movers. I will give words of encouragement to my students when they are taking risks. Also, I will learn from my mistakes, and demonstrate to my students how to work through challenges. Most importantly, I will remind myself and my students to have fun.

 

Deans, Jan. (2016) Thinking, Feeling and Relating: Young Children Learning though Dance. Australasian Journal of Early Childhood

Hartle, L.C.; Pinciotti. P., & Gorton, R.L.(2015) ArtsIN: Arts Integration and Infusion Framework: ECE Journal, 43:289-298.

Zitomer, M. R. (2017). Always being on your toes: elementary school dance teachers’ perceptions of inclusion and their roles in creating inclusive dance education environments. International Journal of Inclusive Education, 21(4), 428-440.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page