top of page

The Creative Process

The four play-based art activities was my opportunity to engage in the creative process. As described by the Ministry of Education, the creativity process “involves the invention and the assimilation of new thinking and its integration of existing knowledge” (p. 19). The creative process is both “spontaneous, and deliberate and focused effort” (OME, 2009, p. 19). Furthermore, most of the time the creative process is about the questions we ask - and not necessarily about the answers (p. 19). It is a fluid and cyclical process which does not always get completed (OME, 2009). By using the creative process, students will be equipped with the skills and techniques to express one’s ideas (McArdle, 2002).

What I found especially meaningful was the monoprinting activity. With the first print I went through was the “challenging and inspiring” and “imagining and generating” stages. I was curious to see how the paint moved when I rolled it on the surface. Also, I was interested in how the different paint colours mixed.

Creative Process (OME, 2009)

Once my first print was created I was more decisive with the colour choices and orientation of the roller. Here, my art process became more “planned and deliberate”. Even after I was satisfied with my second print I was motivated to try a third print. I was comfortable to experiment with the additional tools. In experimentation I was able to “investigate, test, explore, manipulate, solve problems, make decisions, and organize information in hands-on ways.” (OME, 2009, p. 39). I wanted to experiment because of the positive and safe environment created. Supported in the curriculum, “Teachers need to be aware that the atmosphere they create for learning affects the nature of the learning itself. A setting that is conducive to creativity is one in which students are not afraid to suggest alternative ideas and take risks.” (OME, 2009, p. 19). Throughout the process I received feedback from my peers and the teacher. They gave words of encouragement and offered ideas through their actions. The layout the activities was in groups where we were facing each other while we worked. This position let me converse with my peers in a relaxing setting, and see the work they produce.

I found that when I first approached a new table I wanted to try all of the materials available. The fact that I didn’t have to make only one piece of art eased the constraints of having to make something perfect and satisfactory on the first try. Once I got use to the materials and observed what my peers created my second and even third version combined what I have practised and liked.

Moving forward I learned the importance of giving my students the time and space to explore and experiment with the tools and materials. The first piece of art that they create should not be their only chance to try the art - especially if it is their first time using a particular tool or material. Most importantly, students should enjoy trying new things and minimize anxiety when faced with a challenge.

 

McArdle, F. (2002). “Visual Arts” in The Arts, Young Children and Learning

Ontario Ministry of Education (2009). Curriculum Guidelines: The Arts. www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/curriculum/elementary/arts18b09curr.pdf

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page